Misto Popcorn


In an effort to get healthy and have a lower fat intake, I have eaten soy lecithin, dimethyl silicone, and propellant. Yes, I said propellant. Here’s an interesting thought: I’ll guess that you have too!
propellant
The best way to cut fat when sauteing is to use spray oil instead of pour oil. This actually does a great job of cutting down the amount of oil we cook with. This is how I have cooked for the past few years. When they included olive oil into the spray-oil-family, I was all for it! I never realized until last week that along with the oil, there was also soy lecithin, dimethyl silicone, and propellant in the spray can. I have no idea what the first two are; although, not recognizing an ingredient can never be good. I do know what the last one is, and am shocked that I have allowed myself to ingest such a thing!

Immediately I scoured the internet trying to find a way to spray my pans with olive oil. Just olive oil. That is where I found the Misto can. It is simple to use and the best part is that I control what goes into the can. The pamphlet says it can be filled with oil and also with an oil mixture such as vinegar and oil for salad spritzing. Wonderful!

misto

To use, you simply fill the inside container 1/2 way (about 1/3 cup) and close it. You then place the cap on top and pump it up and down about 10-12 times. Tada! You have a spray that sprays just like a “propellant”, but without the propellant. Note that when you pump, you should pump until the pressure is firm. This makes for a better spray. The instructions call for a monthly cleaning, which is fine with me. Once I run out of the oil, I’ll wash, rinse, and repeat the process!

My favorite Misto recipe-

One of my favorite snacks is popcorn. I no longer buy it from the grocery store or in those easy microwave packets due to fat and GMOs. I buy organic popcorn from Nuts.com and dry pop it in the microwave.
popcorn
What you need:
A microwave
A brown paper bag (think elementary school lunches-back in the day)
1/4 cup organic popcorn
Misto filled with olive oil
Salt, Garlic Powder, or your favorite seasoning.

Directions:
Place the popcorn into the brown bag. Fold the top. Place it in the microwave and pop on “popcorn setting” or for approximately 3 minutes, stopping when the pops slow. Remove the popcorn, place in a bowl and Misto with olive oil. Sprinkle on your seasoning.

You now have a truly healthy snack. Enjoy!

For daily health and/or pancreas tips, “like” HappyPanky on FaceBook at: HappyPanky

4 thoughts on “Misto Popcorn

  1. Hey thanks for the Misto tip – I’ve still been using Pam cooking spray on baking pans occasionally and getting grossed out. This is a much better alternative, and a great idea for popcorn!

  2. Pingback: Shopping for pancreatitis | HappyPanky

  3. I used to use the brown paper bag method to make microwave popcorn. Then I began reading articles, and it was also mentioned on a tv medical program, that the bags are created with a glue that when heated in the Microsoftwave transfers toxic chemicals into the popcorn. I simply use a glass mIxing bowl covered with a dinner plate…leaving a crack for steam to escape. No oil. Works well and no chemicals to be concerned with.

Leave a Reply

